Sign up for eBlast
Veramendi retains Battle of the Bluebonnets title

NBISD 10th Annual Battle of the Bluebonnets 1st Place Team from Veramendi Elementary

The 10th Annual NBISD Battle of the Bluebonnets competition was held the morning of April 2 in the NBHS Auditorium. The morning-long event featured one team from each of the district’s elementary schools vying for the title of Bluebonnet Champions.

The competition included four rounds of 25 questions based on the current year’s Texas Bluebonnet Books Awards List. During each round, the teams are asked questions based on the Bluebonnet Books and as a team provide an answer to earn points.

The teams are comprised of five students in grades 3rd-5th. The school librarian serves as the coach for each team. The teams spend several weeks preparing for the district-level event.

The following students competed in this year’s event:

1st Place: Veramendi Elementary - Abigail Henkes (team captain), Marlee Kirkland, Ariana Latham, Maliya Kilbride and Melanie Bowen (coach)

2nd Place: Seele Elementary - Graham Taylor (team captain), Caroline Dennis, Arden Soell, Sophia Kelly, Kaia Hatch and Michelle Wisdom (coach)

3rd Place: Voss Farms Elementary - Alizayah Bernal (team captain), Gibran Rodriguez, Elizabeth Briggs, Kate Fuller, Isabella Cruz and Amanda Alden (coach)

Carl Schurz Elementary - Maci Wiedenfeld (team captain), Ana Garcia*, Whitney Edwards, Julia Sandoval, Harrison Mira and Tammy Ullman (coach)

County Line Elementary - Carlos Salas (team co-captain), Erick Tran, Rylee Huff, Darren Lackey (team co-captain), Emma Pruitt and Martha Lewis (coach)

Lamar Elementary - Emily Janecek (team captain), Kyle Keller, Adam Dobbs, Finn Wilkinson, Rhett Robinson and Denny Schulte (coach)

Klein Road Elementary - Brinson Martin (team captain), Logan Ellichman, Aiden Engelhardt, Kendall Jackson, Ashton Land and Stephanie Green (coach)

Memorial Elementary - Yousef Abu Swireh (team captain), Dreken Gallina, Natalia Glenn, Maddie Couser, Ayelen De Leon Nunez and Shirley Cabada (coach)

Walnut Springs Elementary - Breelie Meno (team captain), Effie Walker, Iris Meek, Wyatt Middleton, Konnor Carley, and Julie Gallichio (coach)



The team from Veramendi Elementary Maliya Kilbride, Kadence Kenney, Marlee Kirkland, Abigail Henkes (team captain), Ariana Latham, and Chloe Abbott (assistant coach) won 1st Place in the 2019 NBISD Battle of the Bluebonnets competition.

RELATED VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_pH_6oi3ag


Copyright © 2019 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM