Sign up for eBlast
NBISD residents re-elect three trustees

The residents of New Braunfels ISD re-elected Dave Heefner and Wes Clark as Trustees for the two at-large seats that were on the ballot during the election held on May 4. The race included three candidates – Dave Heefner, Wes Clark and Michael Trevino – with the two highest vote-getters being elected for the open seats on the NBISD Board of Trustees. 

Keith D. Smith was also re-elected for another three-year term on the NBISD Board as the Trustees for Single Member District 1. He ran unopposed and will serve a fourth term as a school board member. 

In the contested race for the two at-large positions, Heefner received 1,252 votes (35.13 percent), Clark received 1,473 votes (41.33 percent) and Trevino received 839 votes (23.54 Percent). A total of 2,336 votes were cast in the election or 6.39 percent of the 36,542 registered voters in NBISD.

The unofficial results of the at-large election are:




Early Voting

Election Day


Dave Heefner





Michael Trevino





Wes Clark






Dave Heefner, a resident of New Braunfels for the past 33 years, retired from teaching in 2015 after 21 years in NBISD at Carl Schurz and Oak Run Middle School. Over the past several years he has received several awards including being named a Silver Unicorn and NBISD Secondary Teacher of the Year. After retirement he has also spent time mentoring students at Oak Run Middle School and NBHS. Heefner is currently serving as Board Secretary, a post he was elected to in May 2018. He and his wife, Tammye, have two daughters that attended NBISD.

Wes Clark
, a 1999 graduate of NBHS, was first elected to the Board in 2013. He currently serves as Board Vice President, a position he has held since May 2018. Clark is the vice president of Rocky Hill Equipment Rentals. He volunteers his time coaching youth sports in a number of New Braunfels community organizations. He and his wife, Christina, have two children attending NBISD and one recent NBHS graduate.


Keith D. Smith was first elected to the Board in 2010. After an honorable discharge from the U.S. Marine Corps, he returned to New Braunfels with his family and has been a resident of NBISD for more than 20 years. He has worked as a general contractor remodeling homes and business his entire career until recently when he began working for Rush Enterprises. His wife and daughter are both NBHS graduates.

The newly elected board members will be sworn on May 20, during the regular monthly Board meeting.
Both District 1 and the At-Large positions are full, three-year terms that will expire in 2022.

The NBISD Board of Trustees is comprised of seven members that include five single-member districts and two at-large positions. According to Board Policy BBA (LEGAL), the trustees, as a body corporate, have the exclusive power and duty to govern and oversee the management of the public schools of a district. For more information about the Board, go to http://www.nbisd.org/page/brd.election.

Copyright © 2020 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM