Sign up for eBlast
NBISD Education Foundation honors 2017 Distinguished Alumni

2017 Distinguished Alumni Dr. Frederick Frueholz, Jr., Robert Tug Pfeuffer, Jean Hillje Pfeuffer and Anne Louise (Mund) Miller

The NBISD Education Foundation honored the 2017 Distinguished Alumni during the halftime show of the varsity football game on Sept. 1. This year’s honorees include: Dr. Frederick Frueholz, Jr., Robert Tug Pfeuffer, Jean Hillje Pfeuffer and Anne Louise (Mund) Miller. The NBISD Education Foundation officially inducted these individuals on Aug. 8, during an awards dinner held at Seekatz Opera House.


Dr. Frederick Frueholz, Jr.

Dr. Frederick Frueholz, Jr. attended grade school at Carl Schurz Elementary then graduated from New Braunfels High School in 1945. He attended the University of Texas at Austin and the University of Texas Medical School in Galveston. After graduating from medical school, Dr. Fred interned at Santa Rosa Hospital in San Antionio, taught in the Medical Corp at Fort Sam Houston and served a two-year commitment in France at the Army’s 28th General Hospital. His love for New Braunfels brought him back to his family practice that was set up in his iconic home on Seguin Street and the place he still resides today. His passion for music, history and architecture have lead to his involvement with organizations such as the Mid-Texas Symphony, the Heritage Chorale, the Texas Bach Choir and the creation of the Comal County Historical Commission.


Robert Tug Pfeuffer

Robert Tug Pfeuffer is a 1955 graduate of New Braunfels High School. He attended Texas A&M University and served in the Corps of Cadets.  He then graduated the University of Texas Law School and began his law career serving as an attorney for the United States Air Force.  In 1973, Bob was appointed as the first Judge of the 207th Judicial District Court.  For 21 years, he served his state as district court judge. Judge Pfeuffer is also being honored for his commitment to the Sophienburg Museum through their radio program, Reflections, as well as, his involvement with the Noon Lion’s Club and the Comal County Fair Association.


Jean Hillje Pfeuffer

Jean Hillje Pfeuffer is a 1957 graduate of New Braunfels High School. She attended the University of Texas at Austin and graduated in 1961 with a Bachelor of Arts degree. She married her high school sweetheart, Robert Tug Pfeuffer, and after his Air Force commitment, returned to their hometown of New Braunfls where they raised their three children, Michael, David and Susan. She received the New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce Besserung Award and was also honored with induction in the Chamber’s Hall of Honor. Mrs. Pfeuffer has devoted countless hours to the Sophienburg Museum, was a founding member of the Heritage Society, and was the first president of the Water Oriented Recreation District.


Anne Louise (Mund) Miller

Anne Louise (Mund) Miller graduated from NBHS in 1975. She attended Southwest Texas State University and married Doug Miller in 1977.  She served two terms on the NBISD School Board of Trustees and was honored with the Silver Unicorn Award in 1999.  She was active in PTA, City Council PTA, and several NBHS Sports Clubs, serving in various leadership roles.  Additionally, she has volunteered in many organizations, including, but not limited to, the NBISD Education Foundation, Braunfels Foundation Trust, NB Chamber and the Sophienburg Museum.  She and her husband have two children, Douglas II and Amanda Louise and two grandchildren, McKinley and Korbyn.

Copyright © 2018 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM