Sign up for eBlast
117 NBHS students named AP scholars

2018 National AP Scholars and AP Scholars with Distinction from NBHS

New Braunfels High School was recently notified that 117 students were named Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars at the following recognition levels: 2 National AP Scholars; 31 AP Scholars with Distinction; 19 AP Scholars with Honor; and 65 AP Scholars. Scholars are recognized based on the number of AP tests taken and their average score.


At NBHS, 556 students took a combined 843 AP exams in 21 different areas during the 2018 spring semester.  More than 65 percent of the NBISD students that took an AP exam scored a 3 or better and qualified for college credit.


The largest participation was in Human Geography with 166 students taking the test and 103 out of the group earning a 3 or better. Additionally, a total of 57 students took either the Spanish or French AP test with 56 earning a 3 or better.


The AP Scholar criteria is outlined below:

National AP Scholar distinction is granted to students in the United States who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

AP Scholar with Distinction designation is granted to students who receive an average of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

AP Scholar with Honor designation is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.

AP Scholar designation is granted to students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.


On Oct. 15, the NBISD Board of Trustees honored the top-performing students that were named either National Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars or AP Scholars with Distinction. Those honored by the NBISD Board include:


National Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars: Kevin Coco-Senyszyn and Skyler Vestal


Advanced Placement (AP) Scholar with Distinction - Matthew Barber, Isaac Barrera, Luke Bird, Jaeger Blair, Rebecca Borchers, Phillip Brown, Elizabeth Buell*, Johnathan Burd, Brandon Burtchell*, Caleb Chance*, Steven Clark*, Katie Coco-Senyszyn*, Kevin Coco-Senyszyn, Natalia Coronado, Kathryn Day*, Clancy Forlano*, Rylie Lillibridge, Andres Manrique*, Gloria Mcintush*, Kayla Mims, Brooke Moeller*, Adam Morris, Laura Pfeuffer*, Julia Plocica*, Aracely Rios Garza*, Slater Smith, Pedro Uribe*, Skyler Vestal, Jesse Westburg, Catherine Wilson and Weston Wright*.

*Denotes May 2018 NBHS Graduate


The following students were also named AP Scholars for their performance on the Spring 2018 administration of the tests:


AP Scholar with Honor: Simon Barker, Josh Bhakta, Cole Blount, Lauren Callahan*, Tate Korpi*, Ryland Lane*, Charles Lano, Connor Mack, Devin McMurtry*, Zachariah Muntzenberger, Eric Nash*, Jonathan Pierce*, Collin Presley, Santiago Quinonez, Noah Santee*, Hayley Stroud*, Jackson Tubb, Santiago Uribe* and Addison Wittler.


AP Scholar: Janie Aguilar*, Ryan Albers, Jeremy Alkire, Brooke Baragana, Logan Bost*, Evan Bowen, Joy Boykin, Lindsay Bueche*, Julianna Burman, Robert Calder, Cooper Coley*, Regan Davis, Kali Dunbar*, Carter Edwards*, Evan Erickson, Jack Fischer, Caleb Fore, Taylor Gilstrap, Dane Gonzalez*, Travis Gorrell*, Hampton Gray*, Christopher Greenwell, Travis Griscom*, Ethan Hanson, Chloe Horan*, Rebecca Hughes, Hannah Jacobs*, Jesica Jimenez*, Elsie Johnson, Savannah Joseph*, Casey Kaufman, Stella Kuntz, James Lanik*, Emily Lewellen*, Sarah Lind*, Avery Looney*, Maxwell Luhrs*, Clara Lusby, Conor Marrou, Taylor Masias*, Monika Mendoza, Matthew Merrill*, Lucy Muir*, Joshua Navarro, Nathan Padgett, Marcus Riley, Daniel Robson*, Jessica Rolandt, Anna Rossbach, Braxton Rush, Jennie Smith, McKenna Smith*, Heather Stewart, Chloe Uelman, Jose Uribe*, Andres Uribe Stevens*, Ethan Venegoni, Syreeta Walker, Rebecca Ward*, Jason Wheat*, Natalie Wilson*, Stewart Woolley*, Tayler Wright, Caroline Wuensch and Stetson Zollinger.


*Denotes May 2018 NBHS Graduate


The AP program is a curriculum sponsored by the College Board that offers standardized courses to high school students and are generally recognized to be equivalent to undergraduate courses in college. Participating colleges grant credit to students who obtain high enough scores on exams to qualify.


 CAPTION: 2018 National AP Scholars and AP Scholars with Distinction from NBHS (front row, left to right) Skyler Vestal, Kevin Coco-Senyszyn, Catherine Wilson, Kayla Mims, (back row, left to right) Jonathan Burd, Phillip Brown, Isaac Barrera and Matthew Barber.

Copyright © 2019 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM