Sign up for eBlast
NBHS students named to region choirs, advance to Pre-Area

NBHS Varsity Choir Members that were named to a 2018 Region Choir or advanced to Pre-Area

A total of 37 Unicorn Choir members were selected for membership to one of the four Texas Music Educations Association (TMEA) Region 12 Choirs. Out of the delegation from NBHS, a total of five students advanced to the Pre-Area level of competition. They include: Stacy Cos, Savanna Pack, Grace Shafer, Navi Walker and Samuel Smith.


Pre-Area Auditions will be held on Nov. 27 at Johnson High School in San Antonio.  The auditioning students will compete in a singing and sight-reading round.  Out of 10 singers in each voice part, the top 5 will advance to Area Auditions in January, where the All-State Choir members will be selected. 


As part of the process, the students that earned a spot in a region choir participated in the Region Choir Clinic and Concert held at Texas Lutheran University (TLU) on Nov. 9-10. The event culminated with the Region Choir Concert held the evening of Nov. 3 at TLU.  The following young musicians participated:


Mixed Region Choir

Soprano 1 – Stacy Cos, 9th chair

Soprano 2 – Savanna Pack, 1st Chair; Grace Shaefer, 5th Chair; Elise Johnson, 16th Chair; and Amy Stein, alternate

Alto 1 – Navi Walker, 6th Chair; Bailey Burgess, alternate; and Brianna Sargent, alternate

Alto 2 – Maya Goodlow, 16th Chair

Tenor 1 – George Marsh and Matthew Carreon, alternates

Tenor 2 – Diego Villarreal, 18th Chair

Bass 1 – Samuel Smith, 7th Chair; and Robert Salinas, 12th Chair

Bass 2 – Xavier Layton, 13th Chair; Isai Morales, 16th Chair; and Jason Harrelson, 17th Chair


Treble Region Choir

Soprano 1 – Alesandra Garza, 29th Chair

Soprano 2 – Amy Stein, 4th Chair; and Maddie Wartsbaugh, 11th Chair

Alto 1 – Bailey Burgess, 5th Chair; and Brianna Sargent, 6th Chair

Alto 2 – Esmee McFadden, 28th Chair; and Alaura Harrelson, 32nd Chair


Honors Treble Region Choir

Soprano 1 – Clohie Warns, 17th Chair; and Emily Garza, alternate

Soprano 2 – Angela Hughes, 1st Chair; Abigale Balfanz, 6th Chair; and Dominque Villalon, 24th Chair

Alto – Carolyn Stratemann, 14th Chair; and Kennedy Staats, 34th Chair


Men’s Section Region Choir

Tenor - Mylo Bearce, Tristan Villarreal and Brady Wilkins

Baritone – Adam George and Sergio Roman

Bass – Alexander Bradway and Nicholas Burdine


“I am so proud of the hard work of these Unicorn Choir singers,” said Caitlyn Gallegos, NBHS choir director. “Their commitment to achieving musical excellence has propelled them to a new level and resulted in a strong showing in the Region Choirs. I am thrilled to see the results of their continued focus and hard work!"


The choir students welcome the community to their annual Holiday Concert scheduled for 7 p.m. on Dec. 13 in the NBHS Auditorium. The concert is free and open to the public. In addition, the New Braunfels community is invited to join the Unicorn Choirs in a performance of the Hallelujah Chorus from Handel’s Messiah. The chorus will rehearse from 6:15 to 7:30 p.m. on Dec. 6 in the NBHS Choir Room. The chorus will perform as the finale of the Choir Holiday Concert.


CAPTION: NBHS Varsity Choir Members that were named to a 2018 Region Choir or advanced to Pre-Area include: (front row, left to right): Angela Hughes, Grace Shafer, Stacy Cos, Maya Goodlow, (middle row, left to right) Alesandra Garza, Amy Stein, Esmee McFadden, (back row, left to right) Navi Walker, Savanna Pack, Elise Johnson, Brianna Sargent

Copyright © 2019 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM