Sign up for eBlast
NBHS students selected for TMEA bands, advance to state

NBHS students selected for TMEA bands, advance to state

The Mighty Unicorn Band had a strong showing in the audition process for the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) All-State Band. A total of 102 students auditioned on Nov. 15 in the first round with 42 students making the District Band and 21 of those advancing to the next level of competition. 


The Region Band auditions took place on Nov. 29 at Canyon High School. A total of three students from NBHS advanced to the Area level and earned the following: Heather Hippchen (1st chair, bassoon), Matthew Barber (7th chair, horn), and Jessica Rolandt (11th chair, clarinet). They will audition for the All-State Band on Jan. 12 at The University of Texas at Austin.

The students making Region Band and receiving District honors include:

Region Band - Chair

John Armstrong - 4th; Matt Barber - 3rd; Reese Barganier - 15th; Cole Blount - 1st; Phillip Brown - 2nd; JT Chapman - 3rd; Caleb Congdon - 1st; Dylan Greiner - 6th; Heather Hippchen - 1st; Nolan Hopkins - 1st; Becca Hughes - 8th; Chris Lehmann - 1st; Luke Liechty - 4th; Cassandra Moya - 16th; Hunter Lightsey - 1st; Joseph Pickett - 8th; Jessica Rolandt - 4th; Thomas Shafer - 12th; Will Smith - 2nd; Israel Vargas - 2nd; and Ben Wibert - 2nd


District Band - Chair

Coby Albrecht - 17th; Jeremy Alkire - 3rd; Will Borchers - 7th; Katy Brown - 4th; Lauryn Curtis - 24th; Julian Davidson - 9th; Tanner Dietert - 7th; Grant Garrison - 8th; Jose Giron - 10th; Hayden Hardaway - 6th; James Hall - 5th; Regan Helsley- 20th; Maddie Leita - 30th; Ryan Reed - 16th Anna Rossbach - 3rd; Samuel Smith - 16th; Cacee Strean - 29th; Skyler Taylor - 12th; Melanie Thompson - 5th; Amy Villalobos - 26th; and Cesar Villalobos - 6th

Copyright © 2019 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM