2017 Teacher of the Year Recognition Program

The Teacher of the Year recognition program is intended to honor excellence in the classroom and provide a forum to showcase outstanding educators whose efforts and example have inspired their students, their colleagues and the community they serve. All recipients must:

  • demonstrate outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching
  • take an active role in their communities as well as their schools
  • be professional, poised and articulate
  • inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities
  • be skillful, dedicated teachers who plan to actively continue classroom teaching

CLICK HERE to view additional Teacher of the Year photos. The program is administered at the state level by the Texas Association of School Administrators. 



NBISD selects District Teachers of the Year

Posted: April 20, 2017


The NBISD Board of Trustees honored the Teachers of the Year at the April 17th board meeting held in the NBISD Education Center Boardroom.  


In addition to the 12 Campus Teachers of the Year, NBISD has selected Brande Schriewer (Sh-ree-ver) of Lone Star Elementary as District Elementary Teacher of the Year and Lt. Col. Mark House, USMC (Ret.) of New Braunfels High School as the District Secondary Teacher of the Year. 


These outstanding teachers were chosen from this year’s Campus Teachers of the Year that applied for the honor by writing a handful of essays and sitting through a local interview panel. Schriewer and House will compete at the regional level this summer with hopes of ultimately being named Texas Teacher of the Year.

Brande Schriewer, New Braunfels ISD 2017 Elementary Teacher of the Year

Brande Schriewer

Lone Star Elementary School

2017 NBISD Elementary Teacher of the Year


Brande Schriewer has been an educator for the past 26 years and a teacher in NBISD for the past 16 years. She worked in North East ISD and Coppell ISD before coming to NBISD in 2001. She currently works as a fifth-grade English Language Arts and History teacher at Lone Star Elementary. In her teaching career, she also worked as a third-grade and fifth grade self-contained teacher. 


She received her bachelor’s degree from The University of North Texas and also attended the University of Oklahoma for her undergraduate degree. She is a member of the Association of Texas Professional Educators, the NBISD Technology Committee and a Lifetime Member of the Parent Teacher Association.


Her past honors include being selected twice as an NBISD Education Foundation Grant Recipient and as a Habitat for Humanity Door Finalist. She is very active with the District’s technology initiatives and has been spotlighted by the Technology Department on the NBISD Transform website for technology integration and is an elementary resident expert and badge recipient. In 2006 she was selected as Campus Teacher of the Year at the former Memorial Intermediate School. 


CAPTION:  Superintendent Randy Moczygemba, District Elementary Teacher of the Year Brande Schriewer and Lone Star Elementary Principal Heather Salas 

Lt. Col. Mark House, New Braunfels ISD 2017 Secondary Teacher of the Year

LtCol Mark House, USMC (Ret.)

New Braunfels High School

2017 NBISD Secondary Teacher of the Year

LtCol Mark House retired from the U.S. Marine Corps in 2010, and has worked the past seven years for NBISD in his current role as the Senior Instructor of the Marine Corps JROTC. In this role, he has coordinated and supervised more than 1,500 community service events in the New Braunfels area focused on NBISD activities and non-profit requests.

He earned his bachelor’s degree from the U.S. Naval Academy and a Master of Public Administration from National University. His past educational experience includes teaching at the postgraduate level for the U.S. Marine Corps and the U.S. Navy.

House is a member of the American Legion, the U.S. Naval Academy Alumni Association, Marine Corps League, and Veterans of Foreign Wars where he currently serves as the VFW Post 7110 Ceremonial Honor Guard Commander. He was named NBHS Teacher of the Month in October 2016, and March 2012 and was awarded the VFW Post 7110 Citizenship Education Teacher Award in 2015. 

He and his wife of 22-years, Allison House, have three school-age children; a son, Ethan, and daughters, Blaise and Scout.


CAPTION: NBHS Principal Kara Bock, District Secondary Teacher of the Year Lt. Col. Mark House, USMC (Ret.) and Superintendent Randy Moczygemba 

NBISD names their 2017 Campus Teachers of the Year

Posted: March 10, 2017

The New Braunfes ISD is proud to announce this year’s Campus Teachers of the Year. All of these individuals will be honored at the April 17 board meeting and will be considered for the honor of NBISD Elementary or Secondary Teacher of the year. From that level, they will advance to the regional competition with hopes of ultimately being named a Texas Teacher of the Year. The announcement for the District’s Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year will be made during the month of April. 

Yolanda Grijalva
Carl Schurz Elementary
4th Grade Dual Language Teacher
Tina Kalebick
County Line Elementary
5th Grade Teacher
Stacey Roff
Klein Road Elementary
Life Skills Teacher
Haley Parsons
Lamar Elementary
3rd Grade Teacher
Brande Schriewer
Lone Star Elementary
5th Grade Teacher
Amy Prenavo
Memorial Elementary
Special Ed Teacher
Tonya Heffington
Seele Elementary
1st Grade Teacher
Brittney Brittain
Walnut Springs Elementary
2nd Grade Teacher
Robin Hataway
New Braunfels Middle School
7th Grade Science Teacher
Kristen Bryant
Oak Run Middle School
8th Grade Math & Algebra Teacher
Joshua Brake
NBHS Ninth Grade Center
World Geography Teacher
LTC. Mark House
New Braunfels High School
ROTC Instructor

Copyright © 2016 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM