2017 Graduation Ceremony Information

Event Details


TIME: 7 p.m.

DATE: Thursday, May 25, 2017

LOCATION: Texas State University Strahan Coliseum, 700 Aquarena Springs Dr., San Marcos, Texas 78666

Parking and Directions


Parking for the event is in the large lot next to Strahan Coliseum, but has limited access. Please reference the map below for road closures and other parking information.


Strahan Coliseum Printable Parking Map

Directions to Strahan Coliseum


Watch the Ceremony Online

Purchase a Copy of the Graduation Ceremony on DVD


A video of the 2017 New Braunfels High School graduation ceremony will be available to view on June 5, 2017 at www.nbisd.org and the New Braunfels ISD YouTube channel.  It will additionally broadcast Sundays at 6 p.m. on Time Warner Cable channel 98.  The video is also available for purchase on DVD by calling (830) 643-5780 or by emailing info@nbisd.org


Event Guidelines

Graduates are being asked to arrive and report to the auxiliary gym at Strahan no later than 6:15 p.m. Bullhorns, whistles, beach balls, etc. will not be permitted in the venue. Handicap seating is available on the ground floor, but is limited.

Ceremony Program

Nearly 600 high school graduates will walk the stage on May 25 during the New Braunfels High School Commencement Ceremony scheduled for 7 p.m. at Texas State University’s Strahan Coliseum.

The Master of Ceremonies for the graduation ceremony will be Jacob Gaier, the student body president. The ceremony will feature the Top 10 graduates from the class in several speaking roles including the opening sentiments, graduation address, and closing sentiments.

The Top 10 graduates for the 2017 Graduation Class of New Braunfels High School include:

1.   Lacee Mims – Valedictorian

2.   Johann Rossbach – Salutatorian

3.   Jake Ables 

4.   Mitchell Taylor

5.   Mekenzie Hardaway

6.   Harrison Painter

7.   Micah Stark

8.   Zachary Painter

9.   Kamerin Smith

10.  Emily Collins


Top 10 graduates for the 2017 Graduation Class of New Braunfels High School

Front row, left to right: Mitchell Taylor, Johann Rossbach, Lacee Mims, and Jake Ables.
Back row, left to right: Kamerin Smith, Emily Collins, Zachary Painter, Micah Stark, and Mekenzie Hardaway.
Not pictured: Harrison Painter.

Lacee Mims, NBHS Class of 2017 Valedictorian

Lacee Mims


Lacee Mims is the valedictorian for the New Braunfels High School Class of 2017. While in high school, she was a two-year member of the NBHS Key Club, a three-year member of HOSA, and has played girls basketball all four years, with the last three years on the varsity team. She was also a Citizen of Texas Bluebonnet Girls State. After high school, she plans to attend Southwestern University and major in biology. She is the daughter of Alex and Deirdre Mims. 

Johann Rossbach, NBHS Class of 2017 Salutatorian

Johann Rossbach


Johann Rossbach is the salutatorian for the New Braunfels High School Class of 2017. While attending NBHS, he was a member of the National Honor Society serving as Vice President, a member of the NBHS Unicorn Marching Band where he served as clarinet section leader and was also a member of the NBHS JV soccer team.  His awards and honors include being named National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholar, AP Scholar with Distinction, and a member of the Texas All-District Band. After high school, he plans to attend the University of Texas at Austin and major in History. He is the son of Alicia Rossbach and Dr. Mario Rossbach. 

Posted: May 17, 2017 | Updated: June 2, 2017

Copyright © 2020 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM