Sign up for eBlast
News Blog
Click on the drop-down menu to view stories from previous months. >  >  >
NBISD Board votes to hire Dr. Cade Smith as Superintendent

New Braunfels ISD board votes to hire Dr. Cade Smith as Superintendent of Schools during their monthly meeting held on May 10, 2021.

At the May 10 regular monthly meeting of the New Braunfels ISD Board of Trustees, the Board unanimously approved the hiring of Dr. Cade Smith as Superintendent of Schools. Dr. Smith is currently the superintendent at Brock ISD and will resume his new position in NBISD on June 1.
“I am so honored the NBISD Board of Trustees has selected me to be superintendent of this exceptional school district!” said Dr. Smith. “I cannot wait to get started working alongside our staff to serve this amazing community.”
“We are very excited to have Dr. Cade Smith as the next Superintendent of Schools for New Braunfels ISD,” said Wes Clark, NBISD Board President. “We were looking for a transformational leader that would take the district to a new level and feel Dr. Smith is the right person to make that happen. He brings the right mix of experience and leadership skills needed to ensure success for our staff and students.”
Biographical Information
Dr. Smith has more than 20 years of experience working in education with a majority in administrative roles at the district and campus level. The past three years he served as the Superintendent of Brock ISD, a fast-growing district that is high-performing.  
He also worked for Georgetown ISD and Frisco ISD as a district administrator or high school administrator. He began his career in education as a high school teacher and coach and worked in Kaufman, Allen and Lockhart ISD. 
Dr. Smith was named the Agriculture Teachers Association Texas Administrator of the Year for Area IV in 2020 and received the 2017 American Association of School Administrators (ASSA) Educational Administration Award. He was selected as one of 25 to join the AASA 2020 National Superintendent’s Certification Program. 
He currently serves on the Board of Directors for Quality Texas Foundation and has been elected to serve as Secretary for the Texas Fast Growth School Coalition. He is also a board member of the Texas Association of School Administrators’s Leadership Center and serves on the Region 13 Education Service Center Superintendent’s Advisory Council.
Dr. Smith and his wife, Haley, a family nurse practitioner, are the proud parents of two school-age children, Callen and Taylor. His educational background consists of a bachelor’s degree and teaching certification from Texas State University, a master’s degree in Education Administration and Principal Certification from Lamar University, a Superintendent’s Certification from the University of Texas at Tyler, and a Ph.D. in School Improvement from Texas State University. He is a public school product and graduate of Harlingen High School-South as well as the son of 1993’s Texas Superintendent of the Year, Dr. James F. Smith.


NBISD Board General Election results for May 1

Board Election Results 2021


Based on the unofficial results released by the Comal County Elections Office, the  residents of New Braunfels ISD re-elected Eric Bergquist for Single-Member District 3 Trustee and elect newcomer Steve Minus for Single-Member District 5 Trustee during the General Election held on May 1.  The races included two candidates vying for District 3 and three candidates on the ballot for District 5. 


Out of the county’s 84,034 registered voters, 1,866 voters or 2.22 percent voted in the NBISD General Election on May 1. The official canvassing for the election as well as the administering of the Oath of Office for the board members will take place at 7 p.m. on May 10 during the regular monthly meeting of the NBISD Board of Trustees.


District 3 Unofficial Results

Incumbent Eric Bergquist received 562 votes (80.63 percent) and John Porter received 135 (19.37 percent).  



Early Voting

Election Day


John Porter





Eric Bergquist






Eric Bergquist - Trustee, Single Member District 3

Eric Bergquist, a 1987 graduate of New Braunfels High School, began his first term on the NBISD Board of Trustees on May 21, 2018. He is employed by GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals as a Territory Account Manager. He and his wife, Dawn, have two children who recently graduated from NBHS.  

District 5 Unofficial Results

Steve Minus received 737 votes (69.14 percent), Betty Niven received 181 votes (16.98 percent)and Brian Grenier received 148 votes (13.88 percent). 



Early Voting

Election Day


Betty Niven





Brian Grenier





Steve Minus






Steve Minus - Trustee, Single Member District 5

Steve Minus has lived in New Braunfels for 15 years. He is currently the General Manager of Operations for an engineered building materials company in central Texas. He is a graduate of the University of Texas at San Antonio. His wife is a 5th generation New Braunfels resident and proud graduate of NBHS. He has two school aged children that attend NBISD schools.


For more information regarding the May 1 General Election, CLICK HERE.

Copyright © 2021 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM